Return-Path: Delivered-To: ag0ny.com-ag0ny@ag0ny.com Received: (qmail 4048 invoked from network); 5 May 2003 23:47:51 -0000 Received: from unknown (HELO cosmos3.ag0ny.com) (ag0ny1@192.168.0.2) by 0 with SMTP; 5 May 2003 23:47:51 -0000 Date: Tue, 6 May 2003 08:38:19 +0900 From: Javi Lavandeira To: "Microsoft Standard Email Support" Cc: abuse@microsoft.com,noc@microsoft.com Subject: Re: {RTCProd#002-334-493}Please stop testing your products on my server Message-Id: <20030506083819.5375d022.ag0ny@ag0ny.com> In-Reply-To: <200355_@TLZ1552599_@TLZ> References: <200355_@TLZ1552599_@TLZ> Organization: aamsx.org X-Mailer: Sylpheed version 0.8.10 (GTK+ 1.2.10; i386-unknown-freebsd4.6.2) Mime-Version: 1.0 Content-Type: text/plain; charset=US-ASCII Content-Transfer-Encoding: 7bit Dear Christian, I provided the output of a 'whois' so you could see for yourself that the user is inside your network. Yes, the user is a Hotmail user, but he's also using a Microsoft-owned IP address. This time I'm copying the full output of 'whois'. Please take a look at it: cosmos3:~$ whois 131.107.163.48 OrgName: Microsoft Corp OrgID: MSFT Address: One Microsoft Way City: Redmond StateProv: WA PostalCode: 98052 Country: US NetRange: 131.107.0.0 - 131.107.255.255 CIDR: 131.107.0.0/16 NetName: MICROSOFT NetHandle: NET-131-107-0-0-1 Parent: NET-131-0-0-0-0 NetType: Direct Assignment NameServer: DNS1.CP.MSFT.NET NameServer: DNS2.CP.MSFT.NET NameServer: DNS1.TK.MSFT.NET NameServer: DNS1.DC.MSFT.NET NameServer: DNS1.SJ.MSFT.NET Comment: RegDate: 1988-11-11 Updated: 2002-12-05 TechHandle: ZM39-ARIN TechName: Microsoft TechPhone: +1-425-936-4200 TechEmail: noc@microsoft.com OrgTechHandle: MSFTP-ARIN OrgTechName: MSFT-POC OrgTechPhone: +1-425-882-8080 OrgTechEmail: iprrms@microsoft.com OrgNOCHandle: ZM23-ARIN OrgNOCName: Microsoft Corporation OrgNOCPhone: +1-425-882-8080 OrgNOCEmail: noc@microsoft.com OrgAbuseHandle: ABUSE231-ARIN OrgAbuseName: Abuse OrgAbusePhone: +1-425-882-8080 OrgAbuseEmail: abuse@microsoft.com # ARIN WHOIS database, last updated 2003-05-04 20:10 # Enter ? for additional hints on searching ARIN's WHOIS database. As you surely can see, the IP address where the user comes from (131.107.163.48) is inside of this range of Microsoft IP addresses (131.107.0.0 - 131.107.255.255). I wouldn't have contacted Microsoft if this was just another user indexing my web site. Please find out to what section/department/whatever does that IP address belong to, and notify them about my complaint. Thanks in advance, On Mon, 05 May 2003 13:43:52 -0700 "Microsoft Standard Email Support" wrote: > Hello name, > > Thank you for contacting Microsoft Customer Service. > > This appears to be an email user of Microsoft Hotmail who is hitting your computer, not Microsoft Corporation. You have submitted your request to abuse@microsoft.com, and this would be the appropriate place to submit your request, if the unwanted communication either were coming from Microsoft directly, or someone purporting or pretending to be Microsoft. > > As this appears to be coming from someone who is merely using Microsoft's free email service, "Hotmail", we would suggest directing your requests in the future of such matters to abuse@hotmail.com, as they would have the wherewithal to address such issues regarding their users. > > I have took the liberty of forwarding your issue to abuse@hotmail.com in hopes that they can address your needs regarding this matter. > > If you have any additional questions or comments, please feel free to reply to this email. > > Thank you, > Christian S. > Electronic Customer Support > > > -----Original Message----- > From: Javi Lavandeira (ag0ny@ag0ny.com) > Date: Monday, May 05, 2003 05:49 AM > To: newbiecrawler@hotmail.com (newbiecrawler@hotmail.com) > Cc: abuse@microsoft.com (abuse@microsoft.com); noc@microsoft.com (noc@microsoft.com) > Subject: Please stop testing your products on my server > > Hello, > > Today I'm receiving many requests on my server from one of your IPs. These requests look like this one: > > 131.107.163.48 - - [05/May/2003:21:51:06 +0900] "GET /phpbb/viewtopic.php?p=325&sid=b8304d8e1ea563a1583e7317f46c6b8a HTTP/1.1" 200 110 "-" "MicrosoftPrototypeCrawler (How's my crawling? mailto:newbiecrawler@hotmail.com)" > > While these requests do not compromise the security of my server, nor do they cause a burden, I just don't like Microsoft testing their products on my domain/servers/equipment/whatever. Please stop hitting my machine. > > I'm contacting abuse@microsoft.com and noc@microsoft.com because these are two of the addresses listed in the whois entry for the network block. > > Thanks in advance, > > giskard:~$ whois 131.107.163.48 > > OrgName: Microsoft Corp > OrgID: MSFT > Address: One Microsoft Way > City: Redmond > StateProv: WA > PostalCode: 98052 > Country: US > > NetRange: 131.107.0.0 - 131.107.255.255 > CIDR: 131.107.0.0/16 > NetName: MICROSOFT > NetHandle: NET-131-107-0-0-1 > Parent: NET-131-0-0-0-0 > NetType: Direct Assignment > NameServer: DNS1.CP.MSFT.NET > NameServer: DNS2.CP.MSFT.NET > NameServer: DNS1.TK.MSFT.NET > NameServer: DNS1.DC.MSFT.NET > NameServer: DNS1.SJ.MSFT.NET > Comment: > RegDate: 1988-11-11 > Updated: 2002-12-05 > > TechHandle: ZM39-ARIN > TechName: Microsoft > TechPhone: +1-425-936-4200 > TechEmail: noc@microsoft.com > > -- > Javi Lavandeira (ag0ny@ag0ny.com) - http://www.ag0ny.com - http://www.aamsx.org > -- Javi Lavandeira (ag0ny@ag0ny.com) - http://www.ag0ny.com - http://www.aamsx.org